Morning Star Home Science College

Angamaly ESTD.1963

Affiliated to Mahatma Gandhi University and Accredited with
A Grade in NAAC (Re-accreditation Third Cycle)

Call Us

+91 484 2452338

Department Of Physics

The department started functioning with the starting of Pre-degree programme in 1981and became a full-fledged department with the introduction of B.Sc. Physics in 1999. M.Sc. in Physics was started in 2013. The department has a departmental library with sufficient books, a computer lab, general lab and a well-equipped electronics lab. The faculty members in the department are life members of Indian Association of Physics Teachers. The department conducts power Quiz in co-operation
with Kerala Electricity Board.The Department offers Quiz Club.

Scholarships /Awards
  • Msgr. Kuriakose Chiramel Memorial Scholarship instituted by the Sisters of Nazareth to be awarded to the student who scores highest
    marks in B.Sc. Vocational Physics.
  • Scholarship prize to be awarded to the best outgoing student instituted by the staff and students in the department.
  • Vettical V.D. Varkey memorial Prize instituted by Prof. Elsamma the student of II year Physics who scores highest marks in core Physics.
  • Endowment prize instituted by Prof.Cicily P.J. (Former Head) in the name of her father Mr. Thomas John Pazheparambil to he final year student who scores highest marks in core Physics.
Ms. Shiny K. Ittiachan M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed.

Ms. Neenu Mary Thomas M.Sc., NET

Dr. Rintu Mary Sebastian M. Sc., B. Ed., M. Phil., P. hD.

Prof. A. Varadarajan M.Sc. (VISITING FACULTY)

Ms. Hanna Maria Joseph MSc. M.Phil

Ms Divya R M.Sc , B.Ed, SET

Ms Rosy KS M.Sc,B.Ed

Ms. Chithra B. MSc ,BEd, MPhil (PhD)

Latest Updations

Reading Week Celebrations

Department of Physics and Library jointly observed Reading Day on 17th June 2019. A week long programmes were arranged in connection with Reading Day. Dr. Sr. Rosily A.V., Principal inaugurated the programme. 'Pick Your Book', 'Book Tree', 'Book Talk', 'Book Review', Poster Competition were arranged. Valedictory function was arranged on 21st June 2019. Smt.M.A.Gracy Teacher, Chairperson, Angamaly Municipality delivered valedictory address and distributed the prizes.

Web designing class

An awareness class on 'Web Designing' was organized by the Department of Physics on July19, 2019

Science popularization programme

A Science Popularisation Program supported by Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment was inaugurated on 18th January 2019 by Smt. Mini Eldho, Nedumbassery Gram Panchayat President. Shri. A.V. Sathish, Scientific Officer NPCIL,Koodamkulam was the resourse person. A seminar on The role of material science in Nuclear Power Plant was organized on the same day.


Departmental News Letter Spectra was released on 27th September 2018


A visit to Mithradham Renewable Energy Centre, Aluva was arranged on 21st December

Documentary presentation

In connection with Birth Centenary Celebrations of Vikram Sarabhai, a documentary presentation Vikram Sarabhai, the great Indian Visionary was conducted on 15th February 2019

Energy Conservation Day

In connection with Energy Conservation Day interdepartmental Quiz and Poster Competitions were organized on 21st December 2018.

Certificate Distribution Ceremony

Certificates of 'Basic Electronics and Robotics' organized by the Department of Physics and conducted by DCS Robotics, approved by STED Council of India, were distributed on 14th June 2019 by Dr.Sr. Rosily A.V.,Principal , Morning Star Home Science College.

National Science Day

National Science Day 2019 supported by KSCSTE was organized on 19th February 2019. Dr. K.A Vijayakumar, Emeritus Scientist(KSCSTE), Government of Kerala inaugurated the programme and delivered a lecture on solar cells. A magic show by magician Jowan Madhumala, Kottayam was also arranged on the same day.

Open House Celebration and Exhibition 2020

On 3rd Jan 2020 the Department conducted Open House Celebration and Exhibition.

Days Observance

In connection with Centenary Birth Celebration of Vikram Sarabhai documentary show was organized by the Department of Physics on August 12, 2019. Ms. Anjana Sahadevan & Ms. Furseena K.M. spoke on the occasion about the life and achievements of Vikram Sarabhai. Remembrance of the 50th year of Moon Landing was celebrated on July 22.2019. Documentary show and a talk on Moon Landing by Miwa Wilson (II Physics) were arranged

Solar Student Ambassador

Dept. of Physics conducted Solar Student Ambassador Workshop in association with Gandhi Global Solar Yatra organized by IIT Bombay on October 3, 2019.Dr. Sr. Rosily A.V., Principal inaugurated the workshop. 50 students from both UG & PG participated in the workshop. Students assembled Solar Urja Lamps(SoUL)

Power Quiz

Dept. of Physics conducted 'Power Quiz' organized by KSEB Officers' association on October 3, 2019.Ms. Karthika Gopakumar(I B.Sc. Physics) & Ms.Amrutha David (I B.A. Economics) were the winners and participated in the district level competition.

Earth Day 2020

On the occasion of Earth Day 2020, the Ministry of Environment Forest and Climate Change called on the youth to pledge and showcase support for India's transition to low carbon sustainable economy and share plans for an everyday climate friendly action that would undertake to combat climate change in the post Covid-19 world.In this regard , the department of Physics organised an essay and poster making competition on the topic Climate Action- During and Post Covid-19. Everyone was encouraged to plant trees at home.

News Updates

Course Details

Check our Courses


Department Details